NESHAP Categories

In 2008, the US Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) established national emission standards for hazardous air pollutants, known as NESHAP, for all existing and new gasoline dispensing facilities. The EPA structured three categories for facilities based on rolling 30-day throughput averages. These categories help facility owners determine what their requirements are when it comes to vapor recovery.


  • Less than 10,000 gallons of gasoline throughput.
  • Required to conduct good management practices, such as minimizing and cleaning up spills quickly, maintaining sealed fill pipe caps, and minimizing gasoline sent to open collection systems.


  • Between 10,000 and 1000,000 gallons of throughput.
  • Required to conduct all good management practices, as well as use submerged fills for all tanks that are 250 gallons or more.


  • 100,000 gallons or more of throughput
  • Required to adhere to good management practices, submerged fills, and stage 1 vapor recovery.
2894 106th St. Ste. 220 Urbandale, Iowa 50323